Insted - equality and diversity in education

C B M I

Commission on British Muslims and Islamophobia

Useful Websites

Index
British Muslims | Islamic culture and faith
Interfaith dialogue and activities
government | Europe | various

British Muslims

For current issues affecting British Muslims, it is particularly worth visiting:

Forum Against Islamophobia (www.fairuk.org) - valuable news service whereby subscribers receive free of charge, several times a week, a selection of news items.

Honest News (www.honestreports.com) - substantial discussions of Islamophobia in the media.

Islamic Human Rights Commission (www.ihrc.org) - strong international focus as well as British

Islamic Society of Britain (www.isb.org.uk) - conferences, news and events

Muslim Association of Britain (www.mabonline.net) - comment, news, discussions and articles

Muslim Council of Britain (www.mcb.org.uk) -wide range of comment and useful statistics, frequently updated and with a weekly newsletter

Muslim Directory (www.muslimdirectory.co.uk) - substantial lists of contacts and links

Muslim News (www.muslimnews.co.uk) - substantial archive of news items, articles and comment

Muslim Public Affairs Committee (www.mpacuk.org) - includes advice on complaints to the media

Q News (www.q-news.com) - brief summaries of key articles over the years

alaam (www.salaam.co.uk) - wide-ranging data on Islam in Britain

Islamic culture and faith

The sites mentioned above have many links to sites specialising in issues of Islamic faith, culture and spirituality. So do the following:

Council on American-Islamic Relations www.cair-net.org

Islamic Information and Support Centre of Australia www.iisca.org

Islamic Cultural Centre www.islamicculturalcentre.co.uk

Islamic Relief (www.islamic-relief.com)

Islamicity (www.islamicity.com)

Islam Online (www.islamonline.net)

Islamic Awareness Week (www.iaw.org.uk)

Islam for Today (www.islamfortoday.com)

Islam in the United States (www.islam-usa.com)

Islamic Foundation (www.islamic-foundation.org.uk)

Islamic Solutions (www.islamicsolutions.com)

IQRA Trust (www.iqratrust.org.uk)

Masud (www.masud.co.uk)

Mosaic International (www.mosaicweb.com/islam.htm)

Muslim Educational Trust (www.muslim-ed-trust.org.uk)

Muslim Heritage (www.muslimheritage.com)

Muslim Family Network (al-usrah.net)

Ummah (www.ummah.org.uk/what-is-islam)

Ummah News (www.ummahnews.com)

Young Muslims UK (www.ymuk.net)

Interfaith dialogue and activities

BBC (www.bbc.co.uk/religion)

Centre for the Study of Islam and Christian-Muslim Relations (www.bham.ac.uk/theology/csic)

Interfaith Network for the UK (www.interfaith.org.uk)

Multi-Faith Group for Healthcare Chaplaincy (www.mfghc.com)

Government

Advisory, Conciliation and Arbitration Service (www.acas.org.uk)

Crown Prosecution Service (www.cps.gov.uk)

Faith Communities Unit (www.homeoffice.gov.uk/comrace/faith)

Foreign Office (www.fco.gov.uk)

Inner Cities Religious Council (www.odpm.gov.uk)

Local Government Association (www.lga.gov.uk)

Europe

Collectif Contre l'Islamophobie en France www.islamophobie.net - (in French) useful discussions of current issues and news of campaigns and events

European Monitoring Centre on Racism and Xenophobia (www.eumc.eu.int) - includes links to organisations throughout Europe concerned with combating racism and Islamophobia

Forum of European Muslim Youth and Student Organisations (www.femyso.com) - news of conferences and events

Institute for the Study of Islam in the Modern World (www.uga.edu/isiw) - academic articles with a global perspective

Various

Council for the Advancement of Arab-British Relations (www.caabu.org)

Community Cohesion (www.communitycohesion.gov.uk) - national policy and local case studies

Equalities Coalition (www.equalities.org) - news and views on the Single Equality Commission

Just World (www.just-international.org) - based in Malaysia, articles on roots and challenges of Islamophobia

HSBC (www.amanahfinance.hsbc.com) - home finance and banking in accordance with Shariah

National Union of Schoolmasters and Union of Women Teachers (www.nasuwt.org.uk) - guidelines on combating Islamophobia in education

Social Science Research Council (www.ssrc.org/sept11/essays/) - range of academic articles written shortly after 11 September

South Yorkshire Workforce Development Confederation (www.sywdc.nhs.uk) - includes the text of Caring for the Spirit on hospital chaplaincy

Return to index

Top of the Page